Skip navigation links
Policy Audit
Connect with BOE
Board Resolutions
Listen Live to Board Meetings
Skip navigation links
Board Members
Functions of the Board
Board Committees
Board Members 








Lance A. Mizumoto

Chairperson, At Large

Lance A. Mizumoto is President and Chief Banking Officer of Central Pacific Bank. He has more than 26 years of banking experience, entirely in the state of Hawaii. He serves on the board of directors of the Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii and the board of regents at Chaminade University. Board Chairperson Mizumoto is a graduate of Pearl City High School. He received his Bachelor of Business Administration in Management from the Shidler College of Business at the University of Hawaii and his MBA from Chaminade University. Board Chairperson Mizumoto's term runs from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2018.



Brian J. De Lima

Vice Chairperson, At Large

Brian J. De Lima is an attorney in private practice. He is a former Hawai'i County Council member. Board Vice Chairperson De Lima is a graduate of Hilo High School and in 1972 he served as the first Board of Education student member. His daughter, who has special needs, attends Hilo High School. Board Vice Chairperson De Lima's current term runs from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017.



Patricia Bergin

Member, Hawaii County

Board Member Bergin's current term runs from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2019.



Grant Chun

Grant Y.M. Chun

Member, Maui County

Grant Y.M. Chun is vice president of A&B Properties Inc. and formerly served as managing director of the County of Maui. Board Member Chun serves on the board of directors for A Keiki’s Dream, Alexander and Baldwin Foundation, Maui Chinese Cultural Society, Maui Economic Development Board, and Maui Economic Opportunity. He also serves on the executive board of the Boy Scouts of America Maui County Council, on the Maui Regional Board of the Hawaii Health Systems Corporation, and on the Chancellor’s Advisory Council for UH Maui College. Board Member Chun earned a bachelor’s degree in political science and public relations from the University of Southern California. He also holds a law degree from the University of California – Hastings College of the Law. Board Member Chun's term runs from February 19, 2014 through June 30, 2017.


Maggie Cox

Member, Kauai County

Maggie Cox is a retired Department of Education science teacher and principal who was previously was elected to the Board of Education for two terms. As a board member, she was part of the negotiation team dealing with the management of Hawaii State Teachers Association and Hawaii Government Employees Association.  She earned a BA from North Texas State University.  Board Member Cox's term runs from July 1, 2015 through June 20, 2018.


Hubert Minn

Member, City and County of Honolulu

Hubert P. Minn is a retired administrator for the Department of Education ("Department"). He was a mentor for the Department’s Central District Mentor Program, and is currently Chairman of Ring Officials for the World Boxing Council and North American Boxing Federation. Board Member Minn previously served in various capacities with the former elected board of education including serving as its chairperson in 1978-1979.  He was also deputy director for the City and County of Honolulu, Department of Enterprise Services (2007–2009); received the Hawaii Teacher of the Year Award (1993) and Outstanding Teacher for the Cliff Bailey Quality Award, Hawaii Quality Schools Network (2002). Board Member Minn holds a BA from California State University, Northridge. Board Member Minn's term runs from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2018.


Kenneth Uemura

Member, City and County of Honolulu

Board Member Uemura's term runs from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2019.


Bruce Voss

Member, At Large

Board Member Voss's term runs from July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2019.



Jim Williams

Member, City and County of Honolulu

Jim Williams is a retired administrator and CEO of the Hawaii Employer-Union Benefits Trust Fund ("EUTF"). He previously served as vice chair of Voyager Public Charter School and president and CEO of Royal State Learning Foundation; interim director and president of the Hawaii State Teachers Association.  He was a teacher at Kauanakakai Elementary School and Molokai High School.  Board Member Williams's current term runs from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017.


Andrea Lyn Mateo

Student Representative (2016-2017)

Mateo will serve a one year term.



Colonel Peter P. Santa Ana

Military Liaison

Colonel Peter P. Santa Ana is currently the Director for Manpower and Personnel at Headquarters, U.S. Pacific Command, Camp Smith, Hawaii.  He supports the 378,000 personnel serving throughout the command’s vast area of responsibility, which includes 36 countries, by leading a diverse team of civilians and both active duty and reserve personnel in executing personnel planning, quality of life programs, and personnel support for ongoing operations and exercises throughout the Pacific region.

Colonel Santa Ana received his commission through the ROTC program at the University of Texas at Austin in 1990.  A career Force Support officer, he has also served as a senior leader Executive Officer three separate times and at two major command staffs to include the Commander Pacific Air Forces, Commander’s Action Group.  Colonel Santa Ana has deployed to Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan supporting Operations DESERT STORM and ENDURING FREEDOM.  He commanded the 5th Mission Support Squadron at Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota to the 2005 Best Mission Support Squadron in the USAF.  He served on the Joint Staff as a Strategic Planner in the J-5 and developed Strategic Engagement Plans for the Chairman and Vice Chairman.  Col Santa Ana deployed to Afghanistan a second time to author Afghan War assessment reports for the ISAF Commander to inform the President, Congress, NATO, and other heads of state of troop contributing nations about war progress.  The colonel served on the Air Staff working Personnel Readiness systems analysis and writing evaluations, promotions and fitness policy for the Air Force.  Prior to his current assignment at United States Pacific Command, Colonel Santa Ana served as the commander, 6th Mission Support Group, MacDill Air Force Base, Florida, where he commanded more than 2,200 people assigned to six squadrons, and supports U.S. Special Operations Command, U.S. Central Command, and 36 other mission partners.